One more step in the fight against sexual harassment in Egypt

I have now completed my article and it will soon be published by Fair Observer, once the editors edit it and the web designers format it to look neat and pretty. Woohoo!

I have also been able to complete my MA unexpectedly in the past 2 weeks. I never imagined I’d be able to complete it this year after my attack forced me to abandon the unfinished documentary. I will admit, I am rather proud of myself.

It was quite a challenge to fit so many moving stories and viewpoints into such a tight word count. I soon came to realise that sexual harassment in Egypt needs much more extensive coverage, which has inspired my decision to create some kind of web resource for women to share their experiences of sexual harassment, and their ideas about tackling the problem. This will also provide me with room to share the stories I have already featured in my article in greater depth. The idea is in its infancy at the moment, but I’ll keep you updated.

It’s deeply satisfying to be connected to the cause of fighting sexual harassment. It’s raised my awareness of the plight of women in so many regions of the world who suffer in different ways every single day simply because they are women, which makes them vulnerable. I feel the plight of women in the Congo (who I will be running 10K for on Sunday), Egypt, India, Honduras and many other regions demands much greater media coverage in order to capture the attention of women in Britain and elsewhere. As cliched as it may sound, I have begun to feel a much deeper bond to womankind – a kind of sisterhood that motivates me to do much more to defend women’s rights globally.

I’ve now got a 10K run on Sunday that I am nowhere near physically fit enough to complete with ease; I anticipate that I’ll be crawling across the finish line. But the cause is so incredibly worthwhile and I’m very glad to be part of it.

Then I’m off to Oxford for my 2-week internship with Unreported World. I cannot wait. It’s going to be a fantastic experience – I’m sure of it. I’m so happy to be interning for a programme that I feel so genuinely enthusiastic and passionate about. I hope I can bring oodles of positive energy to the team without being annoying.

Today is a good day!

4 thoughts on “One more step in the fight against sexual harassment in Egypt

  1. I am so impressed! Congratulations on finishing your MA! Please continue your education and complete your PhD, someday it would be wonderful to see you educating thousands of young women after completing a long and illustrious career as a journalist and documentarian!

  2. Good to see you progress Natasha,its nice to know you are making yourself aware of so many difficulties of woman kind of the listed countries and feeling a bond with them. However all said and done everyone who lives around such places where womankind suffer knows very well that it is less an issue of awareness and more an issue of tackling social behavior patterns of the men of the society. May be it is important task for society where you live it , to create awareness and get more attention for support programs for victims of harassment, but it does nothing to prevent it.
    It will be more meaningful for you to engage in the work which aims at explaining the causes of such behavior in men and devising programs for prevention, just my views.

Leave a Reply

